2 Weeks South of the Equator – Part 2

29 Oct

Here are more photos from the second half of my trip through SW Uganda.  We covered over 1800 km from Soroti to Kisoro, Nteko, Buhoma, Kamwenge, and then home again.

IMG-1336

We trained another Batwa settlement up in the mountains on keeping sheep and gave out 6 more sheep loans there.  

IMG-1331

A few years ago, we helped to start a church near this settlement.  Last time I was there (2 years ago), they had just purchased land for the church.  It was fun to be able to see the progress made there over the last couple of years and I got to preach in the church on Sunday morning (I covered Hebrews 10:1-18, it is one of my favorites to teach).

IMG-1313

William was one of the participants that received a sheep loan.  He is also one that I trained 3 years ago on keeping rabbits and he is one of the few who is still working hard and keeping his rabbits.

IMG-1373

After Kisoro, we went around to the north side of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest to plan a goat project there for January.  While there, I got to go and see Pascal, one of the participants in our first rabbit group that I trained 5 years ago.  His rabbits are still going strong after all these years!

IMG-1407

While visiting another Batwa settlement, I came across a goat with some upper respiratory issues.  I suspected it might have some nasal bots so she got a dewormer too.

IMG-1437

The road leading north from Buhoma passes through a national park, we came across this elephant grazing on the side of the road.  

 

2 Responses to “2 Weeks South of the Equator – Part 2”

  1. Steve Long October 29, 2018 at 7:23 am #

    Thanks for the pictures. Sounds like the work in that area is growing. That area is beautiful, lush vegitation, amazing volcanoes and exotic wildlife.s

  2. Steve Binney October 29, 2018 at 2:41 pm #

    Daniel,

    Great travelogue and great ministry log. This was fun and encouraging reading. Thanks for all the details; in my mind the Batwa lived due west of Kampala near the border. Now I know a lot better and appreciate all the more your trips to minister to them!

    Blessings to all,

    Steve

    ________________________________

Leave a comment