School of Ministry – The Beginning

3 Mar

We are just coming to the end of our second week of school.  It has been quite the experience.  At some moments I begin to feel a bit overwhelmed by the whole thing and I just have to relax and remember that we only do this by God’s strength and according to his plan – why should I worry about  things that are outside of my control.

I love having the school up and running.  I love being with the students every day.  I love teaching classes.

win_20170220_15_07_22_pro

The first week I was busy doing a lot of teaching as I covered an overview of the Bible.  This week has  been a little more relaxed for me as we start to settle into our routines.  I have been teaching some of the Biblical foundations classes looking at some doctrinal topics that we can draw out of various Bible passages.  This afternoon, I taught my first session in a series on Tentmaking – looking at practical ways that these students will be able to support themselves and their families as they engage in ministry.  I took the students out to the demonstration farm in Obule and gave them a brief introduction to some of the agriculture topics that we are going to look at this term.

win_20170222_09_33_29_proRachel worked with the students the first week giving an orientation to the library computers and she is looking forward to integrating some computer practice into this term.

win_20170221_18_00_54_pro

In addition to a variety of other quizzes, assignments, and memorization, I gave the students a “Bible Resources” assignment to give them practice using their concordance and their Bible’s footnotes and cross reference system – they spent a few hours in the library laboring through all the work I gave them last week.

We are still working out some of the finer details – how do we install the new photocopier, what is the most opportune time to serve porridge, do we have enough mosquito nets, where are the extra light bulbs, how many rolls of toilet paper do we go through in a day, do the beans have the right proportion of soupiness to be served with the posho, at what height should we hang the clock – those are just some of the earth shattering crises that I had to deal with today.

I am really loving every moment of this school and being with these students.  I know with confidence that this is the work that God has been preparing us for over these last few years.

2 Responses to “School of Ministry – The Beginning”

  1. Krista March 4, 2017 at 9:13 pm #

    This is great! So happy for you guys. You both make such great teachers. God bless.

  2. mwilburn522 March 29, 2017 at 3:12 pm #

    This is all so neat!! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

